A Part of the Canadian Heritage


Alexander Keith’s Brewery

1496 Lower Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1R9, Canada

(902) 455-1474      

http://keiths.ca  

 

If you don’t already know, Alexander Keith’s is part of our Canadian heritage. It was founded in 1820 , by Alexander Keith, a Scottish Immigrant and also a Politician.  The brand became very popular, it is now sold in the USA since 2011. Good to know, in 2002 the Halifax mayor Peter Kelly , decided to include in every Alexander Keith’s case of beer,  a special invitation to the clients, an invitation to visit Halifax (good marketing strategy). It must be working , because they have lots of visitors.

 Now, back to my review;  I wanted to visit Alexander Keith’s brewery since 10 years ago, it was my first time in Halifax and I was a bit shy and would not have went by myself. Now, it’s another story, I am more  daring …I am so curious that I visit and do things that I would not have believed possible for me to do.  I went on a cloudy day, it was about 2:30, I took many pictures outside and inside. Good to know, you don’t have to pay to get inside, but you will have to pay if you want a guided tour  ( a new tour starts every 1/2 hour), I would suggest that you do it , if you have the time , it’s about 45 to 1 hour long, depends on the questions you might have. It’s possible to taste a full size beer, that have a bar on site. 

I have to tell you that, besides learning about the process of making beers, you’ll have full show, the guides are wearing costumes and are singing often. So If you are not fans of musicals, it might not be for you. If you don’t mind the music and the acting part, you’ll have a wonderful time!

Everyone are welcome to visit, I have seen some families with kids (but they are not allowed to taste anything). It would be a good activity for groups of friends  who wants to have a good time.

Suggestion: Visit on a rainy day, even if it’s a bit more crowded, you don’t want to waste a nice sunny day inside of brick walls (humid and dark).

I would recommend to anyone , solo, couples, groups and families. Keep in mind that it’s  more of a show , so if you want to really learn about the beer fabrication, you might want to ask lots of questions or visit something else.

 

 

2014-08-14 18.45.55 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a comment